The Bible in the western culture: Millennia of civilization

Marking the 1600 years of the death of Saint Jerome, translator of the Bible


Honor Committe[1]

  • President of the European Commission
  • President of the Portuguese Republic
  • President of the Assembly of the Republic
  • Minister of Culture
  • President of the Academy of History
  • President of the Lisbon Academy of Sciences
  • Rector of the University of Coimbra
  • Rector of the University of Lisbon
  • Rector of the University of Porto
  • Rector of the New University of Lisbon
  • Rector of the University of Minho
  • Dean of the University of Évora
  • Rector of the University of the Azores
  • Rector of the University of Algarve
  • Rector of the University of Trás-os-Montes and Alto Douro
  • Rector of the University of Beira Interior
  • Rector of the University of Madeira
  • Rector of the Aberta University
  • Rector of the Portuguese Catholic University 
  • Rector of ISCTE – University Institute of Lisbon
  • Rector of the Autonomous University of Lisbon Luís de Camões
  • Rector of the European University
  • Rector of the University Fernando Pessoa
  • Rector of Lusíada University 
  • Rector of the Lusophone University 
  • Rector of the Portucalense University Infante D. Henrique
  • Rector of Mackenzie Presbyterian University
  • President of the City Council of Gouveia
  • Director of the National Library of Portugal
  • Director of the Book, Archives and Libraries
  • Chairman of the Committee on Religious Freedom
  • Cardinal-Patriarch of Lisbon
  • President of the Portuguese Evangelical Alliance
  • President of the Portuguese Council of Christian Churches
  • President of the Portuguese Union of Seventh-day Adventists
  • President of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • President of the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation
  • President of the National Center of Culture
  • President of the National Society of Fine Arts


Organizing Committee

President: José Eduardo Franco (Aberta University; University of Lisbon)

Vice-President: Paulo Mendes Pinto (Lusophone University)

  • André Rubim Rangel (Association for Multicultural Dialogue)
  • António Fernandes (IECCPMA)
  • Bruno Venâncio (University of Lisbon)
  • Carlos Filipe (IPPEM)
  • Daniel Mineiro (University of Lisbon)
  • Florentino Bernardes Franco (University of Lisbon)
  • João Relvão Caetano (Aberta University)
  • Joaquim Franco (University of Lisbon)
  • José Bernardino (University of Lisbon)
  • Manuel Barbosa (Episcopal Conference)
  • Milene Alves (University of Lisbon)
  • Paula Carreira (University of Lisbon)
  • Paulo Rocha (Ecclesia Agency)
  • Rita Balsa Pinho (Aberta University)
  • Rui Oliveira (Universidade Lusófona)
  • Rui Rego (Aberta University)
  • Susana Alves-Jesus (IECCPMA)
  • Timóteo Cavaco (New University of Lisbon)
  • Vítor Rafael (Lusophone Universidade)


Executive Coordinating Committee

Executive Coordination: Cristiana Lucas Silva (University of Lisbon)

Coordination of Communication and Promotion: Simão Daniel (Aberta University)


[1] Subject to Confirmation.

[2] Sujeito a confirmação.
































































International Scientific Committee[2]

President: Herculano Alves (University of Lisbon; Difusora Bíblica)


  • Alexandre Júnior (University of Lisbon)
  • Eugénia Magalhães (IEAC-GO)
  • João Duarte Lourenço (Portuguese Catholic University)
  • José Augusto Ramos (University of Lisbon)
  • Porfírio Pinto (Lusophone Universidade)


  • Álvaro Balsas (Portuguese Catholic University – Braga)
  • Annabela Rita (University of Lisbon)
  • António Couto, Bishop of Lamego
  • António José Dimas Almeida (Lusophone Universidade)
  • António Manuel Moiteiro Ramos, Bishop of Aveiro
  • Béata Cieszynska (University of Lisbon)
  • Bruno Nobre (Portuguese Catholic University – Braga)
  • Carlos Cabecinhas (Sanctuary of Fátima)
  • Carlos Fiolhais (University of Coimbra)
  • Cristina Trindade (University of Madeira)
  • Dionísio Vila Maior (Aberta University)
  • Edgard Leite Neto (Federal University of Rio de Janeiro)
  • Elisa Lessa (University of Minho)
  • Ernesto Rodrigues (University of Lisbon)
  • Fabiano Fernandes (Portuguese Biblical Institute)
  • Francisco José Vilas Boas Senra de Faria Coelho, Archbishop of Évora
  • Geraldo Morujão (Portuguese Bible Association)
  • Henrique Manuel Pereira (Portuguese Catholic University)
  • Henrique Pinto (University Lusófona)
  • Inês Gil (Universidade Lusófona)
  • Jo-Anne Ferreira (The University of the West Indies – Trinidad and Tobago)
  • Joana Balsa de Pinho (University of Lisbon)
  • João Duque (Portuguese Catholic University)
  • José António Falcão (Ministry of Culture)
  • José Brissos-Lino (Lusophone University)
  • José Carlos Carvalho (Portuguese Catholic University)
  • José Carlos Lopes de Miranda (Portuguese Catholic University)
  • José Ignacio Ruiz Rodríguez (University of Alcalá de Henares)
  • José Luís de Almeida Monteiro (Order of Preachers – France)
  • José Manuel Martins Lopes (Portuguese Catholic University – Braga)
  • José Ornelas Carvalho (Portuguese Catholic University)
  • José Pedro Paiva (University of Coimbra)
  • José Rosa (University of Beira Interior)
  • José Rui da Costa Pinto (Portuguese Catholic University – Braga)
  • Lídice Ribeiro (University Mackenzie)
  • Luís Machado Abreu (University of Aveiro)
  • Luísa A. Paolinelli (University of Madeira)
  • Madalena Costa Lima (University of Lisbon)
  • Manuel Cadafaz de Matos (Center for the Study of the History of Book and Publishing)
  • Manuel Curado (University of Minho)
  • Marco Daniel Duarte (University of Lisbon)
  • Marília Pulquério Futre Pinheiro (University of Lisbon)
  • Mendo Castro Henriques (Portuguese Catholic University)
  • Micaela Ramon (University of Minho)
  • Moisés Lemos Martins (University of Minho)
  • Pedro Calafate (University of Lisbon)
  • Peter Stilwell (University of Saint Joseph)
  • Pierre-Antoine Fabre (EHESS)
  • Rui Oliveira Duarte (Lusophone Universidade)
  • Teófilo Ferreira (Adventist Faculty of Theology)